Since October 2016 we live in Occitania!

This is the new official name of the regions Languedoc-Roussillon and Midi-Pyrénées, who have been merged. So Occitania, with the subtitle Pyrénées Méditerranée and the capital is Toulouse. As inhabitants we are Occitanians.

A very long time ago the largest part of the south of France was also called Occitania. The language was Occitanian, also named langue d’oc (the language of oc), because in the south they said oc for yes (and in the north oïl). So from Occitania to Languedoc and back again to Occitania.

The new division of the regions: